Make a Website : Support Forum

Quick Search

Go Advanced

Member Login

Remember Me? Not registered? | Forgot Password
 
Register
Welcome
 
Make a Website : Support Forum > Domain Names and Email > Spam and scams » Domain name Keyword registration scam
Reply
Old 21-12-2009, 01:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 136
Default Domain name Keyword registration scam

Hi,

We have received the following email and are concerned taht it may be a scam. Could you please advise.


Dear (Sensored domain name)

We are a global domain name registration center in Hong Kong, mainly dealing with domain name registration and internet intellectual property rights protection. On Dec 19,2009 we received a formal application from a company who is applying to register several domains, using “(Sensored domain name)”as the keyword. After investigation,we find that you are the original user of the keyword. Such similar domain cases may involve your trademark and company name,and may cause website confusion and conflicts. For a responsible attitude, we inform you here and ask for your opinion. If you don't mind,we will finish registration for the third company.
Regards,
Linda wang
Tel:+852 31757930(ext.8014)
Fax:+852 31757932
Email:linda.wang@apidnr.com
Website:apidnr.com
anonymous is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 21-12-2009, 01:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Website Builder's Avatar
 
Administrator
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 199
Default

Thank you for your email.

This email is a scam and one that has just recently popped up and caused confusion with a couple of clients now. I would advise that you do not respond to any of their correspondence.

They are fishing for information and trying to get you to buy similar names to your own. There is nothing you can do to prevent other people buying similar domain names unless you buy them all. This would cost a great deal of money with no real benefit to be gained.



We hope this is helpful,
Kind regards,
Reason8 Support
Website Builder is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Reason8.com. (skin created by CompletevB.com)