Make a Website : Support Forum

Quick Search

Go Advanced

Member Login

Remember Me? Not registered? | Forgot Password
 
Register
Welcome
 
Reply
Old 26-08-2009, 11:02 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Senior Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 136
Default Domain name scam?

I recently got a letter saying my domain name is due for renewal and asking me to pay.

There are aspects of the letter that does not ring true so I was wondering if it was a sacm or something I should be replying to?
anonymous is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-2009, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
Administrator
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 21
Default

There are a couple of companies that write to domain owners claiming their domain is due for renewal.

Their main aim is to get you to transfer the domain to them and pay their fee's (often inflated). However the wording in these letters are often ambigious and lead many people to belive that they already use this company.

I would suggest in all instances contacting the registrar of your domain and checking the current status of the domain. Unless you pay and complete their paperwork your domain is safe.

We hope this is helpful,
Reason8 Support
mjcooke is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
 
Reply

« - | Unwanted emails »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.3
Copyright ©2000 - 2012, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.0Copyright ©2000 - 2009, Reason8.com. (skin created by CompletevB.com)